Early Years

The Early Years are a crucial stage of your child's education, setting the foundations for a future of lifelong learning!

In Nursery and Reception, children are taught in accordance with the Early Years Foundation Stage. The curriculum lays out objectives which children should meet from birth through to the age of five. These lead up to Early Learning Goals which children should mostly be able to achieve by the end of the Reception year.

There are seven areas of learning and development. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. 

These three prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

There are also four specific areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

Head over to the Nursery and Reception class pages to find out more about our team and the learning experiences we offer our children.


Files to Download


Whitchurch Primary School and Nursery Wemborough Road, Stanmore, Middlesex, HA7 2EQ
Interim Headteacher | Mr M Thompson-Lawrie